SAMR PD Friday 22/5/15

Please note that these are notes I made during the professional development day itself, and there is a reflection at the end.

SAMR PD Friday 22/5/15

Start with avatar app. Short presentation. My talking avatar.

Kahoots – I came 4th in a short test we did in class.

Also quizLet.Also Socrative.

All of these apps are great for revising and testing knowledge after a unit has been taught.

1st session with Linda.

Diane, Gavin, Anne, Kinsler, me.

Linda’s iBook example. The book is called ‘Engaging English’. This is an example of what we could do as well. TIPS: Take the whole terms work. Put in one place. All in one folder. External hard drive. Have to make it on a MacBook. iBook author.Can be edited year by year. Also have to put it on ultranet as a PDF for sets without an apple product.

Flipped lesson. Flip it, trust it, test it.

Explain everything. I have used this before. Good for topics or items which need to be repeated or come back each year.

How do you embed a you tube video into EE? I was shown this, but did not quite get it – must ask Linda to show me again, or show me where to find instructions.

Other apps: Educreations. Show me. iMovie.

Gardeners learning intelligences. Using Matrices. I have several of these which I have used in classes at various levels, to varying successes.

Example shown is Shakespeare for year 10, and the matrix for level 2.

Eg memetic is substitution, iMovie is redefinition,

All examples are on the ultranet. Including 30 apps for classroom.

Use the template on ultranet.

On my BILB rubric put a list of suggested apps to help them/guide them

SAMR FOLLOW UP

Linda went to a conference about SAMR and met the designer. Beryl as well.

The delight factor!! – to encourage teachers to use SAMR

NCEA evidence can also be visual, or oral.

Gavin’s explain everything. Learn how to stop and start.  Quizlet is also good.

Unfamiliar text structure Q? Ask him to send me that EE. It’s for level 2.

My rubric is for year 9s. Wall.E

TIP. Put your EE into an app. Lapse it.

REFLECTION

I noticed I already knew quite a bit. I have been redefining my classroom tasks and topics and have also used rubrics and matrices as well. *Blog post – Take one matrix and examine that for success, effectivity, and how I can improve it in future.

I acknowledge that Linda is highly skilled, and I can learn from her. We can also learn from each other, and also share our resources and adapt them to make them fit our own classrooms (like we used to do with text books). Teaching and learning – the AKO process, is more fluid than before. We can adapt more easily to the needs of the students, and differentiate more easily, to include the students who sometimes get left behind.

 

Sent from Mrs Taylor’s iPad

Leave a Reply

