Leadership in Learning – Teacher in Charge L1 English 2015

Acting Teacher in Charge of Level 1 English in 2015.

Reflection:

I was asked to take charge in 2015 because Thalia Henry was on a year’s leave. I was very happy to be given this responsibility as I felt I knew the programme well, the teachers well, and was ready to upscale my general leadership qualities at Orewa College.

I was responsible for the following:

  1. Timely organisation and distribution of materials for each internal assessment for the L1 English programme.
  2. Updating materials and resources when and if necessary. For instance I continued to ‘ako-ise’ my Level 1 resources and shared these with other L1 English teachers, and they shared their work as well.
  3. Contact with the relevant teachers about the materials, deadlines, organisation of moderation evenings and post meeting organisation of the student results. For instance, picking 8 pieces of student work to be moderated before each meeting, and ensuring these marks were available and discussed at the meeting, before we marked the other students’ work.
  4. Leading each moderation meeting.
  5. Checking that all relevant administration was available on the English Department Google Drive, in the correct folder as instructed by Meryl Howell (Head of Department).
  6. At the end of the year, double checking that all moderated work was available, all students’ work was correct, and the links to their work were correct.

I admit there were a few moments where I was not sure what to do, so I checked with Meryl to make sure I was doing the right thing, at the right time. We contacted each other mainly by email.

I was happy with my contribution to the English Department, and asked to be considered for TIC in 2016. After discussions with Thalia as well, it was agreed that Thalia and I would share the role in 2016.

We have drawn up a list of responsibilities for 2016 and I will be posting this list, and a reflection again, at a later date in 2016.

Leave a Reply

