Kahoot as a learning tool.

Kahoot results Wed 12 Oct.xls

https://create.kahoot.it/?_ga=1.238113603.239148940.1433719690&deviceId=2abba6c1-135f-4f90-a169-930e6e272496#quiz/a44e7d04-83a9-4967-a487-45554653613c

Kahoot as a learning tool in my English and Spanish classes.

Above are:

  1. The results to a short 10 question Kahoot test I did with my year 9 English class today.
  2. The actual test on Kahoot which was created by a year 9 student in my class in 2015.

Reflection:

  1. I have been using Kahoots for the last couple of years in most of my classes. I have not yet made a Kahoot for my year 7 or year 8 Spanish classes, however, my year 9 and 10 English classes get excited about doing a Kahoot quiz, and they have also made some themselves. I have also used some with my Level 1 English classes.
  2. I realised that Kahoots are not just a fun way of testing students’ knowledge for gathering, but also that I could use this at the creating (applying) level in order to focus the students’ attention on what and how they are actually learning, and come up with something entirely original, yet fun – this was a revelation for me!!
  3. The ratio of playing a Kahoot, or creating a Kahoot, for the students (year 9/10) is approximately 3:1. I hardly ever create my own these days – I use the ones created by my students, for their class, and for other classes. They are even more engaged because they are playing a game created by someone they know. Also, the ones who have created the game feel proud of themselves, and also feel motivated to create another one.
  4. I download the results and reward the top 5 students with a couple of jelly beans! Not that this is important, as some students are just satisfied that they have come in the top 5. I save and use the results as part of my data resources. The results show me A. what has not yet been learnt well by the class as a whole. B. Who may need with the current topic. C. Who may have processing difficulties (eg finding the answer quickly – within 15 seconds sometimes). I then consider how this information fits in with my professional judgement about these students.
  5. What I have noticed from this short quiz today is that Lucy, Poppy and Brodie did not score well (7 wrong). I noticed Brodie messing around a lot (self-management) and that Lucy and Poppy were sitting together at the back, perhaps not concentrating as well as they could have been. Normally they are good, attentive students. I will follow these up next lesson. Meanwhile Tidal surprised me by leading all the way through. Clearly he knows these techniques well. Jess and Neve are excellence students, so fall into the pattern of high achievers for this kind of quiz, Ryan and Jonah are competitive boys so this result did not surprise me. Also, they were both sitting next to others who were helping them a bit! I played this quiz at the end of a double period, and they knew they were going to get a Kahoot as I had checked with 4 groups whether their Kahoot had already been played in the class. These students clearly remembered that their quizzes had already been played in the class.

In the future:

  1. Up to now I have only made, or had students make, simple multiple choice quizzes. I will investigate the other possibilities and see how I could apply them in my classrooms.
  2. Although there are many, many Kahoots, I should continue to look for really good ones created by other people, in the other formats to A. give me some good ideas and B. to play for my classes.
  3. I know I can edit Kahoots, and have changed a couple in the past to suit the needs of a particular class. I will continue to do this.

 

 

 

One Comment on “Kahoot as a learning tool.”

  1. sorreloleary says:

    FYI The link does not provide your results – it just goes to Kahoot login.
    An interesting idea that Kahoot or other quizzes can be a learning tool. The definition of ‘quiz’ is a test of knowledge often in a competitive ambient. I have used a range of these (Kahoot, Plickers, Quizlet, Socrative, Quizzify) and am a little unsure of their benefit in terms of learning.
    Additionally, when students have made these or online surveys, their errors are huge, so they have to be corrected before use.

    I do agree that they, like Education Perfect, can be used for data to confirm your assessment of student progress and processing, yes. The difficulty then is how to respond to the individual’s needs effectively. So, if a student is processing slowly, Kahoot or Plickers will not help them, they need 1:1 and/or perhaps a reduction in task load?

    This is a discussion I would be interested in as it fits in with our priority learner needs – what are effective strategies to employ in a MFL classroom?

    Like


Leave a Reply

